At the Three schools, we understand that Science has changed our lives and is vital to the world’s future prosperity. We believe that all pupils should be taught essential aspects of the knowledge, methods, processes and uses of Science.


In the new National Curriculum, Science has seen some significant changes. The emphasis is to now ensure a high-quality Science education is in place to provide the foundations for understanding the world through the specific disciplines of biology, chemistry and physics.

Across the Three schools, through building up a body of key foundational knowledge and concepts, pupils will be encouraged to recognise the power of rational explanation and develop a sense of excitement and curiosity about natural phenomena.

Children will be encouraged to understand how Science can be used to explain what is occurring, predict how things will behave, and analyse causes. They will be given opportunities to show this knowledge and understanding through practical investigations

The new National Curriculum for Science aims to ensure that all pupils:

  • Develop scientific knowledge and conceptual understanding through the specific disciplines of biology, chemistry and physics

  • Develop understanding of the nature, processes and methods of science through different types of science enquiries that help them to answer scientific questions about the world around them.

  • Are equipped with the scientific knowledge required to understand the uses and implications of Science, today and for the future.

Other significant changes to the Science curriculum

  • There will be a strong focus on Scientific knowledge and language, rather than understanding the nature and methods of Science in abstract terms.

  • Evolution will be taught in primary schools for the first time.

  • Non-core subjects like caring for animals will be replaced by topics like the human circulatory system.


FileFile size
Download this file (Science Scheme of Work.pdf)Science Scheme of Work351 kB


Designated Person for Child Protection is the Headteacher, Ms Carol-Anne McCollum

Deputy Designated Persons for Child Protection are Deputy Head Mr David May, Assistant Headteacher Mrs Heidi Martin and Mrs Rebecca Chapman-Hill