Book bags go home daily and children are expected to practise their reading, tables, spelling and handwriting. Homework tasks are expected to be completed and returned to school by the arranged date. We encourage the children to take pride in all work including that completed outside of school. Children receive their homework directly from their class teacher during the week. Whilst this is also reiterated on the weekly information bulletin, it will have been discussed in detail in the classroom beforehand as the children's independence in taking responsibility for themselves and their homework is encouraged. The weekly bulletins are written to update you weekly with any information you may need to know, but are primarily aimed at the children directly. 


School Rules

Our school rules are kept to a minimum and are based on safety and consideration for each other – they are called the Golden Rules. The reasons for these rules are emphasised through frequent and informal discussion.

If a problem arises, parents are always involved from an early stage. Our emphasis is on rewarding children's good manners, behaviour and effort and on encouraging them to feel pride in doing their best.

This is reinforced in a variety of ways - e.g. praise, certificates, displaying work, informing their parents.

"The head teacher's clear vision, passion for improvement and commitment to achieving the best possible outcomes are shared by the whole school community. Good communication is a key factor in ensuring that improvement is driven forward at a brisk pace."

(OFSTED Swanbourne 2011)


Golden Rules

We are gentle.
We don't hurt others.

We are kind and helpful.
We don't hurt anybody's feelings.

We listen.
We don't interrupt.

We are honest.
We don't cover up the truth.

We work hard.
We don't waste our own or others' time.

We look after property.
We don't waste or damage things.


Designated Persons for Child Protection are the Headteachers, Ms Carol-Anne McCollum and Mr David May

Deputy Designated Persons for Child Protection are Mrs Featherstone, Mrs Heidi Martin and Mrs Rebecca Chapman-Hill